Flights on Flights on Flights

So far, I have boarded 5 different planes during my trip. Currently, I’m typing this blog post aboard my 5th and final flight arriving in Sydney at 9:25am on Saturday, September 7th. Yes, that means airport transportation picked me up at 4:55am to make my 6:45am flight.  Needless to say, I can’t wait to stay on the ground for longer than a few days. I really don’t mind flying but checking and re-checking my bags has been quite the hassle. If you’re curious about all the flights I took to end up in Sydney here they are:

Flight #1: Detroit to Dallas on American Airlines, 3:15pm departure time, Sept. 2nd 2013

My mom and boyfriend, Jason took me to the airport and it was the hardest goodbye or better yet, see you soon, I’ve ever had to do. By the end of my goodbyes, I was in tears, my mom was in tears and my boyfriend claimed to have “teared up”. I entered security with red eyes and a salty face from tears. Once I was on my own I pulled myself together and found the gate just fine.

Image

Flight #2: Dallas to Los Angeles on American Airlines, 5:45pm departure time, Sept 2nd, 2013

Once I got to Dallas I had less than 30 minutes to find my gate. I quickly asked a representative at the service gate and thankfully my gate was in the same terminal as my previous flight. I was surprised at how easy it was to navigate. I didn’t even have to take a tram. Upon boarding the flight, I reached for the first book I wanted to read, The Great Gatsby. As I begin reading, I glanced up for a quick second and see the movie, The Great Gatsby playing on the screen! I decided to watch the movie over again and then return to reading the book after watching the movie. What a fun coincidence!

Flight #3: Los Angeles to Sydney on Qantas Airlines, 10pm departure time, Sept. 2nd, 2013

After a safe landing in LA, I took a bus around the airport to the international gates. Once again, I was surprised at how easy it was to find my gate. Additionally, the terminal was rather scarce with very few shops and restaurants around. I had heard before I left Ohio that the LAX airport was a city in itself but I didn’t get that vibe at all. In LA, I met up with around eight girls who would be joining me on the flight and were part of the GlobaLinks Internship Program. We had several hours to spare before boarding so we took some time to get to know each other. Before I knew it, I was boarding my international, 15 HOUR flight to Sydney. Qantas provided everyone with a blanket, a sleep mask, earphones, a toothbrush and toothpaste, a pillow and a personal touch screen television in front of us. It was literally the biggest plane I had ever seen. It had two levels and around 90 rows of seats! Fortunately, I sat by the window and another young girl sat on the outside but no one was in-between us. That meant that I could sleep more comfortably. I slept most of the plane ride because 10pm LA time was 1am according to my body. Of course, it wasn’t solid sleep. I woke almost every hour. When I finally woke up for good, we only had about five hours left in the flight. We had an awesome flight tracker on the TV in front of us to tell us where we were.  Since I feel asleep quickly after take-off I missed the in-flight dinner but got a snack bag to munch on. Who wants to eat at like three in the morning anyways?! After waking, I watched the movie, The Internship and got a few laughs out of it. I also read some more Great Gatsby and ate a nice breakfast served to us on the plane. Overall, I didn’t feel too exhausted and it didn’t seem as long as I expected.

Image

Flight #4: Sydney to Cairns, Australia, 9:35am departure time, Sept 4th, 2013

Still on Qantas, I boarded my last flight before my orientation program in Cairns. The flight was nearly 3 hours long but went very smooth. I read The Great Gatsby most of the way and watched a few episodes of Modern Family. I also had breakfast #2!

Flight #5: Cairns to Sydney, 6:35am departure time, Sept 7th, 2013

Now, I’m flying on Jetstar and sitting in the emergency exit row. Extra leg room! Score! We should land in Sydney around 9:30am and someone will be there to take me and the three other students flying with me to our housing for the next 10 weeks.

Overall, I was so pleased that every flight was on time and had very little turbulence. I got to experience some cool views out the window, talk to some Australians and even travel to parts of the United States I’ve never been! My internship starts Monday and I can’t wait to see what Sydney has in store for me.

Hopefully I didn’t bore you with my flying adventures.

Next up: What I did and learned at the GlobaLinks Bridging Cultures Program in Cairns.

Leave a Reply

