I Scream for Ice Cream in Pittsburgh

Image

During my summer in Pittsburgh I tried to visit as many different ice cream shops as possible. I had so much fun exploring different neighborhoods and venues but eating the ice cream was the best part….obviously. I visited a variety of places from a classic parlor to a hometown walk-up establishment. Take a look at my ice cream adventures below and the shop that impressed me most!

Image

 

#1 ice cream shop for overall experience

Klavon’s in the strip district is an old school ice cream parlor with old candies and other nick knacks on the inside. They had several unique options including a 20 scoop sundae! I stuck with the one person sundae with caramel and marshmallow sauce along with some Reese’s cups. The only thing I didn’t like about this place was all the options were very traditional and I like to try really different treats. Overall it was a great family-friendly shop.

Image

 

#1 for BEST ice cream

This was probably one of the best things I’ve ever put in my mouth. I don’t usually like waffles but anything’s good with ice cream. The waffle was WARM, covered with chocolate and peanut butter sauce over vanilla ice cream. I was in ice cream lover’s heaven! I can’t resist something warm paired with cold, refreshing ice cream. I found this waffle ice cream food truck at the Jazz and Ribs fest after running the Color Run in Columbus, Ohio but the owner was actually from Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania. It’s a must try!

Image

 

This is a brownie sundae from Sugar & Spice Parlor in Pittsburgh. I didn’t go inside but it’s a fun retro-style parlor similiar to Klavon’s. Once again the warm paired with the cold made this a real  treat for me. It was a close 2nd to the waffle ice cream sundae. 

Image

 

Talk about one RICH milkshake! I visited the Milkshake Factory on Carson Street in Pittsburgh a few times to enjoy their half off happy hour on Wednesdays. First, I tried the peanut butter fudge milkshake and this is a bear claw milkshake. It had little chunks of almond swirled in chocolate! Both were very decadent and delicious. The Milkshake Factory offers 55+ milkshake flavors. They also have sundaes and gourmet chocolates. It’s a great place for a chocolate lover!

Image

 

One of the last things I  tried was a Blendini from Rita’s. Rita’s has multiple locations in Pittsburgh but I had never heard of it before now. This Blendini had Italian ice and vanilla custard blended with Reese’s cups. It was unlike anything I had ever tried before. Adding the Italian to the custard created a unique texture different from regular ice cream.

That wraps up my ice cream adventures in Pittsburgh this summer. If you didn’t already notice I have a taste for peanut butter and Reese’s. I can’t get enough. I visited a few other ice cream joints over the course of the summer but  didn’t document all my visits. Now go find some ice cream in your area and try something different!

 

Leave a Reply

