A Weekend of Exploration!

This weekend was my 1st real weekend in Pittsburgh. I decided to come down from my stoop on Mount Washington and do a little exploring to find out what this city called Pittsburgh is all about.

My 1st stop was the neighborhood of Shadyside. I went through the Pitt campus and spent some time cruising the trendy shops and boutiques on Walnut Street in Shadyside. The homes around the area are old Victorian and absolutely beautiful.

Image

I found this great trinket store and this awesome book. Road trip?! I think yes!

Next stop: Heinz History Center “dahntawn” to sample food from 50+ vendors from around the Pittsburgh area at an event called Hometown Homegrown. I tried everything from mini donuts and ice cream to Thai chicken and crab cake balls. I was in HEAVEN!

Image

After eating my way through the event I took some time to explore the history museum.

Image

Bacon cooker from the ’60s

Image

Heinz Buggy at the Museum

Eventually the subject of history wore me out and I decided to head to Schenley Park in Oakland to catch some rays. I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful Botanical Garden and Conservatory. I stuck to exploring the outdoor part (which was free) but hope to go inside before my journey ends.

Image

Just a sample of the many pictures I took of the gardens

I spent the rest of the evening with some friends on the Southside of Pittsburgh. We browsed the bar scene but I’ve yet to experience the full effects of Carson Street at night.

Sunday I endured a 5 mile run with my friend Anna and a running club I found out about in Shadyside. I never usually run that far but it was great having people to talk to and keep you motivated along the way. I also practiced Yoga for free after the run. I have a feeling I’ll be sore tomorrow!

Finally, I attended my 1st ever Pirates baseball game at PNC Park. They played the Detroit Tigers who are my favorite hometown team. I had a tough time deciding who to root for!

Image

What an awesome ballpark!

I also had my 1st ever Primanti Bros. Sandwich at the game. Oh boy, so huge but so good!

Primanti Bros. Sandwich with fries in the middle.

What a whirlwind weekend! Taking some time to relax then week 3 of my internship starts tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

